vegan recipes

The wonders of cashew cream

20131115_192116

Cashew cream is a revelation. It’s an awakening to all kinds of food possibilities that I would never have dreamed of without becoming (and I’m still becoming) vegan. I never knew vegan food could be this good, or this creamy.

I soaked a few cups of raw cashews in a bowl in the fridge for a few hours, then blended them for a few minutes with enough water to cover plus an inch or two, and I was amazed at the result. It looked like cream, albeit slightly grainy, and surprise surprise, tasted like sweet nutty and mild cashews.

Then I added other ingredients to batches of the cream and produced a gorgeous potato bake my whole omnivorous family loved, creamy pasta salad that made my husband’s workmates marvel, and sweet maple cream that could decently top any dessert.

I am officially hooked. Recipes will follow.

20131115_192046

3 thoughts on “The wonders of cashew cream

  1. Pingback: Vegan potato bake with cashew cream | Green Goods Archive

  2. Pingback: Holy Cow Low Fat Vegan Mayo | Green Goods Archive

  3. Pingback: An unorthodox cream cheese? | food flavor fascination

Leave a Reply

