classics 'veganised' / vegan recipes

Better late than never, Mushroom Seitan Christmas Roast

wpid-20131227_062706.jpg

Well it’s been a while since Christmas, but better late than never! This seitan mushroom roast went very well with a few salads, mushroom gravy and my superb stuffed tofu roast. It was very tasty, and quite easy to make with readily available ingredients (well you might need to go to a bulk or health food shop for the vital wheat gluten). I will definitely be making this one again, DH and I enjoyed the leftovers for days, in all sorts of ways: on sandwiches, fried for breakfast, with potato salad, or just on it’s own. So good.

Unfortunately I can’t claim credit for this recipe, but check it out here on Kristy Turner’s Keepin’ It Kind blog. You can’t go wrong! I followed her recipe to the letter, except I used button mushrooms instead of the fancy ones, and I think I used about 3 cups of these instead of 2. It seems pretty forgiving.

I can’t wait for winter to have this with mash, gravy and greens. Stodgy food heaven.

One thought on “Better late than never, Mushroom Seitan Christmas Roast

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Medley Salad | Green Goods Archive

Leave a Reply

