classics 'veganised' / vegan recipes

Holy Cow Low Fat Vegan Mayo

wpid-20140126_164220.jpg

Not the best photo, but you get the idea.

There are a lot of vegan mayonnaise recipes on the internet, but many of them are made with oil, as is standard mayonnaise. So when I discovered a few versions calling for a mix of silken tofu and cashews, I had to give it a try! I love tofu, and am totally enamoured with cashew cream, so I knew this was going to be good. I’ve been buying raw cashews from Aldi lately, and they are a lot cheaper than anywhere else I’ve seen them, so it’s not too much of a stretch to make this one a regular.

I’m calling this Holy Cow Low Fat Vegan Mayo, because that is the exact exclamation I made when I first tasted it. If you have a blender I beg you to give this a go, it really is very good. If you don’t have a blender, ask a neighbour and make a double batch. This is my own recipe, inspired by a couple of other similar versions I found on the internet. Here’s one, and here’s another one, theirs and mine are all very close versions of the same thing. Just note mine uses Australian measures.

Holy Cow Low Fat Vegan Mayo

  • 1 packet of silken tofu (the usual pack size is about 300g)
  • 2/3 cup raw cashews, soaked in water for a few hours if possible (I poured boiling water over mine and soaked for about 10 minutes, and the end result was very smooth)
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (Australian size tablespoon, 20ml)
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard (you can play around with other flavourings/mustards here)
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder, or more or less to taste
  • 1/4 tsp salt, or more or less to taste

Method: Plonk everything into the best blender you can lay your hands on and blend until it’s very smooth. Start on low speed until the nuts are broken up into small pieces, then whiz away on a higher speed. I slowly increased the speed to the highest, and I got a fantastic result.

Tips: Getting a really smooth mayo might take a few minutes of blending in a regular blender, or if you have a whiz bang gizmo (like a Vitamix) it might be quicker. My blender is a Breville ‘Kinetix Control’ (a pretty good one but not as good as a Vitamix) and it took about a minute all up. It was very smooth in the end with no grainy texture at all. Soaking the cashews helps a lot with this too. The other trick to get the best flavour is to start with less of the vinegar, mustard and onion powder and increase them to taste, testing and adjusting as you go.

Variations:

  • Use other types of vinegar, or even lemon or lime juice
  • Add fresh garlic to make a wonderful low fat Aioli
  • Add caramelised onions to make french onion dip
  • Add something else to make another kind of dip or sauce – the options are endless!
4 thoughts on “Holy Cow Low Fat Vegan Mayo

  1. It looks like a good recipe. I recently become intrigued by various ‘powders’ i.e. garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt ect. I’ve never used any of them before but I think I really should have. I didn’t really understand the point but then I hadn’t tried them either. Learning every day 🙂

  2. Pingback: Homemade Mayo! Easy, Delicious, No Preservatives, & Cheap! | eat the good

Leave a Reply

